Roaming: Madrid’s Plaza Mayor

September 2, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’m reminiscing about my trip earlier this year to Madrid, Spain. There’s something so imperial about this place, Plaza Mayor. Maybe it’s the statue of King Phillip III, imposing and majestic, planted firmly in the centre of the square. Or maybe it’s the red stuccoed walls, embracing and containing historical events for centuries past. I remember walking into the square and being in awe of the symmetry and the colour and the architecture. Filled with street performers, shops and restaurants, it’s a surprisingly quiet repository in a busy, bustling city.

Truly, one of my favourite moments in Madrid.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Roaming: Madrid’s Plaza Mayor

  • We are leaving for Spain in 6 weeks and will be in Madrid in about 9 weeks for 5 days! I am sooooo looking forward to the month in Spain. I’m hoping the weather is pleasant, I know the food and drink will be fantastic!
    Cheers,
    Laura

I'd love your thoughts...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Roaming: Madrid’s Plaza Mayor at designchickee.

meta