Wanting: iittala Wine Glasses

August 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

Did you know wine glasses have “parts”? Indulge me as I describe one of my favourite sets from the Finnish company, Iittala. This is the Essence, designed by Alfredo Håberli.

Starting from the bottom…

Foot: Its thickness makes this ‘part’ look solid and disk-like. Most wine glasses taper upwards from the outer ring to the base of the stem. But I love how this one is the same thickness throughout.

Stem: With a slight taper, the stem rises up to meet the bowl. Notice that all the stems are the same height in this series. They look beautiful together on your dinner table!

Bowl: I love the soft but squarish bottom of the bowl. Modern but still refined and soft.

There you have it. Now I need a drink… white or red? Who’s joining me?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

I'd love your thoughts...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wanting: iittala Wine Glasses at designchickee.

meta

