Inspired: Eva Zeisel

May 15, 2012 § 4 Comments

I met Eva Zeisel several years ago when she hosted a book signing here in Toronto. I loved her ceramic pieces and rushed to get in line that day, excited to meet a living legend. If I’m not mistaken, she was in her late nineties though you would never know it… her spirit and energy was undeniable. She died last year at the age of 105.

She summed up her role as ‘maker of useful things’. She believed not in invention. But re-invention. She was concerned with making things look beautiful and she loved round, organic shapes. My favourite quote… “Even the air between my hands is round.”

Her ceramics are pieces that you want to touch… hold in your hands… turn them over and around.

I won’t go into detail here about Ms. Zeisel… Follow the link to her TED profile and you’ll soon find out that she had an incredible life. I would highly recommend watching the video of her TED appearance too. You’ll see what I mean about her spirit and energy.

All photos by designchickee.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Inspired: Eva Zeisel

I'd love your thoughts...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspired: Eva Zeisel at designchickee.

meta

