Trail Blazing

April 9, 2012 § 7 Comments

I saw this house last year and it’s never really left my mind. Designed by Swedish architect Elding Oscarson, it’s unlike any townhouse I’ve ever seen. The stark contrast between it and the rest of the street really amazed me.

It reminded me of a residential project I worked on several years back where the home owner wanted the same sort of thing: a super contemporary house in a very traditional neighbourhood. I’m not sure what the process was like for this house but my client’s neighbours were not happy neighbours! They fought him every step of the way. In the end, his house was practically designed by committee. The end result… a more traditional façade (albeit, a modern take on the traditional). Ironically, four years after the fact, several of the homes on his street have decided to go modern! I guess it’s never easy being the trail blazer.

Here’s to those who take risks, stand out from the crowd and push the envelope.

To read the architect’s notes about this house, click here.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Trail Blazing

I'd love your thoughts...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trail Blazing at designchickee.

meta

